Talent

“We are so sorry to inform you.  The talent you thought you had, well, it’s not going to get you where you want to go.”

How many times have we feared hearing that sentence or something similar?  Everyone has talents.  They may not be mainstream, billionaire-making but they always have an impact.   Talents are genuine expressions of us.  They carry gold within in them.  When expressed they are as impactful as a Golden Globe or other form of trophy.

boxing_awards

My mother couldn’t carry a tune.  Her pastries filled out home with delectable scents.  The love coming from the kitchen softened many a blow.  Having children of my own I realized how talented she was as I struggled to make her cream puffs and peanut brittle, finally giving up for my stand-by oatmeal cookies.  She dressed us in handmade sweaters as we grew.  When mohair was the rage she knitted a lined coat for herself and a mini dress for me.  The compliments and ‘where did you find that’ made me smile and proud to say ‘my mom made it’.  Americas Got Talent would have given her 4 X’s.  Her talents weren’t made for TV they were made for us.

There were many in my family with talents.  Brother’s on athletic scholarships, sister’s painting skills that brought extra money, and a father who could weave a story but none of them were rich by most standards.  With each of the talents they held their self-esteem grew and difficulties faced found solutions.

My early talent was seeing the wonder in each person and urging them to further development.  I was the cheerleader with a cohesive voice.  It wasn’t the “rah, rah, rah, sit down, stand up, fight, fight, fight’ cheer.  It was more the development cheer.  Helping each person to find a way our of their dilemma.  I would do this through storytelling and basic psychology.  It was natural for me.  It was just there every time I needed it.  My ability to garden and landscape each of my homes was a natural talent, dancing,  laughing, and creating large gatherings grew stronger as I grew.   I didn’t need to attend an awards ceremony.  I knew that my talents brought pleasure to myself and others.  Seeing their relief, smiles, and enjoyment were enough reward for me.  Sitting in my gardens basking in the scents and sounds brought me my Golden Globe.

I do have a confession to make.  I picked my words before I started as most of the challenge participants did.  I trusted there would be something to write about each.  Recently I joined a writing group and claimed that I was a writer, not just a storyteller but a writer.  I went through the ‘normal’ resistance and soon found myself penning a book.  Last night we were placed on the hot seat.  We were asked to read 400-700 word passage from our book.  I struggled with two different sections mightily.  I also could not find a natural stopping point of 700 words so I went with 921.  I wasn’t nervous preparing I thought.  Apparently I was very nervous as I nearly dropped my phone when my turn came.  I read my passage.  I stumbled over a few words… good indication to find replacements.. and then it ended.  There was dead silence.  No X’s.  Nothing.  I am not new to competition.  I am not new to performing or giving speeches in front of large crowds.  I am new to reading my art to others for feedback.  The nervousness, the personal critiquing, and the fear of “we are sorry but ….”  creeped up higher and higher.  It was so loud that I did not write the rest of the evening.  Every possible smallness piece came flying up into my face.  I could pace the room or I could use my talents and sort through all my emotions.  It wasn’t easy.  Again this morning I was still churning around in my head to quit writing.  It is not easy to set yourself up to exposure.  Resistance as I wrote recently is futile when you are being asked to change your patterns and beliefs.  I am a writer and I will meet resistance every step of the way.

It doesn’t matter  what talent is being challenged and asked to be embraced deeper.  The confusion and resistance come.  The end result is always better and leads to a deeper sense of self and accomplishment.  Accomplishment isn’t bright lights and awards.  Accomplishment is a composure of love that runs counter to your wordy head.  It is an acceptance of the multi-dimensional wealth deep within you.  It is the great seal of self approval that propels every one of us towards the ultimate trophies – self love and acceptance.  Those two trophies have the power to change the world.

So remember YOU’VE GOT TALENT!

T

8 thoughts on “Talent

  1. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    I love this post! “Self-love and acceptance: those two trophies have the power to change the world.” YES! Beautiful! and btw: you did great last night! Remember: YOU’VE got talent!!!

  2. very positive and encouraging post! everyone has some kind of talent. and then there’s the “Rudy”s of the world who never give up and find that persistance pays off!!
    nice job!

  3. Damyanti says:

    There is SO much wisdom in this post. We all have your talents, each one of us is unique and special– I wish we all realized it.

    • tericonnolly says:

      Yes! We all have my talents… and when we all realize them … we change and the world changes. It is simple and it takes determination and desire. Thanks for coming by.

  4. Jemima Pett says:

    I agree (as usual) with Damyanti!
    Jemima
    #TeamDamyanti
    Blogging from Alpha to Zulu in April

Leave a Reply

