Buckwheat???

Seriously buckwheat?  Why in the world would that be the word for my “B” post?  Because!

Buckwheat

“I want pancakes, I want pancakes!”  Screamed my inner child as I yawned and stretched pouring liquid gold into my cup.  The older saner adult perused the request for flaws.  Pancakes are consumed at the risk of hips and hearts.  Filling the stomach with all matters of putrid ingredients unbecoming a highly educated adult and lacking the sensible choices of a refined palate, I chose to go with the adult.  Completely non-plussed, “I want pancakes, I want pancakes!!”  chirped the inner child.  Strolling upon the scene the always wise 20-something chimed in, ‘Buckwheat is nectar from heaven.  It is not a wheat.  It is actually a fruit and grrreat for your cholesterol!  Lots of fiber, top with sliced pear to sweeten and Bam you’ve hit a home run. Or we could just play

and perhaps distract her?’

Not knowing what I truly wanted to do except to consume more liquid gold, I gave in and began the search.  My inner child distracted by the morning dance with 20-something missed the compilation of ingredients for buckwheat pancakes the nectar of adults.  Amidst the jubilation of her inner most desires being met once again, I turned and pondered, what had I been feeding myself.  Was the food worth the effort?  Was my strict adherence to “all things best” really what fed my soul?  Could combining all the wisdom and desires of all aspects of self be the super nutrient?  What was I lacking in my soul diet?

Sitting and savoring this incredible often misunderstood food, I realized what fed me …  joy.

 

 

Copyright © 2014 Teri Connolly. All Rights ReservedB

 

7 thoughts on “Buckwheat???

  1. greyzoned/angelsbark says:

    Ah, joy! I love it: super-nutrient for the soul! And I am truly enJOYing the Buckwheat Zydeco!!! And just FYI: I’m now craving pancakes. :-). Fun post Teri!

  2. Oh, that sounds good. Ok, pancakes it will be in the morning, but not sure is as good as in your description. Loved the post.
    Silvia @
    SilviaWrites

  3. gapark says:

    I get great satisfaction when I am eating well (i.e. Healthy). And the opposite also applies–if I had given in to that inner child and eaten the pancake/cupcake/candy bar…I would be miserable for the rest of the day, feeling like I had let myself down. It’s a great feeling to master those *demon* cravings! I actually recently bought some buckwheat but haven’t used it yet. thanks for the tip! BTW, my family history is full of Connollys. Maybe we should talk. 🙂
    Gail at Making Life An Art

    • tericonnolly says:

      Gail thanks for stopping. I love buckwheat pancakes and they really are very good for you 🙂 It tames the inner child and feeds the adult. We should chat although I will have to say I only ever met my uncles as my grandparents had died. Lived in Waltham and came over between the two famines from Galway.

      • gapark says:

        Waltham MA? My connollys are from Groton, pepperell and dunstable MA. Same time period as well but were from cork. South cork (skibbereen). Guess it is a common name

  4. tericonnolly says:

    Well we were told Cork but once we began the search it didn’t match. It seems they may have departed from there.. Very close to Galway. It seems to be popular 😉 darn !

Leave a Reply

